warning Hi, we've moved to USCANNENBERGMEDIA.COM. Visit us there!

Neon Tommy - Annenberg digital news

Bleachers At The Troubadour: Show Review

Alison Wotton |
March 24, 2014 | 5:31 p.m. PDT

Staff Reporter

Bleachers, the brand new project of Jack Antonoff, of the Grammy award winning band, fun., played their first ever headlining show to a sold out crowd at The Troubadour on Wednesday. The band made its official live debut at SXSW earlier this month and they are set to catch the industry by storm with the catchy single "I Wanna Get Better."

Antonoff is a seasoned musician and songwriter; prior to fun., he led the band Steel Train., who performed at USC Springfest in 2011, and Bleachers' sound hints at a combination of the two projects. As a songwriter he's worked with Sara Bareilles, Tegan and Sara, and more.

The folktronic band yOya opened the show. Bleachers, despite being a brand new project, sold out the venue and had fans eagerly awaiting their arrival on-stage.

Bleachers' songs were well-refined, high energy and the live performance captured the audience's attention even if they didn't know all of the words yet. Although the band seems to come out of nowhere, they have an entire album recorded and ready for release, written during the latest fun. world tour.

They performed all of the songs off of it - with Antonoff noting to the crowd that they couldn't play an encore because they already played all of their material. The band kept the energy up with a cover of Tom Petty's "Don't Come Around Here No More" in the middle of the set.

They closed the show with the single "I Wanna Get Better," and although it's only been out for a little over a month, the audience shouted all of the words of the chorus back. As promised, the band did not play an encore but they left a lasting impression on the sold out crowd - who instead of saying "Don't Come Around Here No More," will be eagerly waiting for Bleachers to return.



  1. "Wild Heart"
  2. "Roller Coaster"
  3. "Shadow"
  4. "Wake Me"
  5. "Reckless Love"
  6. "River"
  7. "Don't Come Around Here No More" (Tom Petty Cover)
  8. "Who I Want You To Love"
  9. "I Wanna Get Better"


Read more of NT's show reviews here.

Reach Staff Reporter Alison Wotton here.



Craig Gillespie directed this true story about "the most daring rescue mission in the history of the U.S. Coast Guard.”

Watch USC Annenberg Media's live State of the Union recap and analysis here.