Neon Tommy - Annenberg digital news

Driving In California? 7 New Car Laws For 2014

Colin Hale |
December 26, 2013 | 4:42 p.m. PST

Executive Producer

California Highway Patrol/via Flickr Creative Commons
California Highway Patrol/via Flickr Creative Commons
Surprise! January 1, 2014 is less than a week away, and a bevy of new laws and regulations are set to kick in with the new year.

Here's the 7 new laws that go into effect for California motorists in 2014:

1. Clean Air Vehicle Decals/"HOV Stickers" (AB 266, SB 286): Cars with Clean Air Vehicle decals that use carpool lanes without having to meet minimum occupancy requirements will be allowed to continue doing so until January 1, 2019.

2. Commercial Driver's License (AB 1047): Drive a bus or commercial truck? This new law changes the requirements for the Class B and Class C license (commercial) and changes requirements for out-of-state license holders.

3. DMV Vehicle Registration Pilot Program (SB 806): This law allows for the DMV to look into alternatives to registration stickers, paper registration cards, and electronic license plates. Another law would need to be passed to implement any findings or recommendations about modernizing the car registration process.

4. Registration and Vehicle Transfers Between Family Members (AB 443): Want to transfer ownership of a vehicle to a relative or living trust? Pay your parking and toll violation fines and penalties first.

5. Teen Drivers (SB 194): This law will "prohibit a person who is under 18 years of age from using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send, or read a text-based communication while driving, even if it is equipped with a hands-free device." Because duh.

6. Veterans License Plates (AB 244): The California Department of Veterans Affairs will sponsor a special interest license plate if it meets minimum requirements and pre-sells 7,500 plates.

7. Bicycles: Passing Distance (AB 1371): Taking effect on September 16, 2014, AB 1371, also known as the Three Feet for Safety Act, this law requires drivers passing a bicycle in the same direction to pass with "no less than 3 feet between any part of the vehicle and any part of the bicycle or driver." If that distance can't be maintained, then the driver must slow down to a "reasonable and prudent speed."  Drivers who fail to do this can incur a fine, even if no accident or collision takes place.

Source: California Department of Motor Vehicles

Reach Executive Producer Colin Hale here. Follow him on Twitter.



 

Live On Twitter

Buzz

Hannah Graham's body has been positively identified by police.

 


Comments

スワロフスキー Hello Kitty (not verified) on January 21, 2014 9:52 PM

イルビゾンテ 名刺入れ

Your rating: None
アークテリクス グローブ (not verified) on January 14, 2014 8:17 AM

モンクレール

Your rating: None
Ashley Riegle (not verified) on December 30, 2013 7:55 AM

Colin Hale does it again!

Your rating: None Average: 3 (2 votes)

Leave a comment

Name
E-mail*
URL
Comments*
ntrandomness