warning Hi, we've moved to USCANNENBERGMEDIA.COM. Visit us there!

Neon Tommy - Annenberg digital news

NHL American Hall Of Fame: Class Of 2011

Lauren Ammatuna |
August 1, 2011 | 7:49 p.m. PDT

Staff Writer


Chelios played for a whopping 26 seasons. (Dan4th Nicholas via Creative Commons)
Chelios played for a whopping 26 seasons. (Dan4th Nicholas via Creative Commons)
Five former NHL players will be inducted into the American Hall of Fame, it was announced Monday. 

Chris Chelios, a former Red Wings player, sits at the top of this year's class.  Not only did he win three Stanley Cup Championships (1986, 2002, and 2008) with two different teams, he also was a three-time recipient of the Norris Trophy (1989, 1993, and 1996), given to the best defensemen in the league. Chelios also spent time as team captain for the Montreal Canadiens (1989-1990) and for the Chicago Blackhawks (1995-1999). His impressive 26-season career is most deserving of being honored in the Hall of Fame.

Keith Tkachuck (former center), Gary Suter (former defenseman), Mike Emrick (radio and television broadcaster), and Ed Snider (chairman of Comcast Spectacor) make up the rest of the class of 2011. 

Tkachuck played for four different teams (Winnipeg jets, Phoenix Coyotes, St. Louis Blues, Atlanta Thrashers) throughout his 19-year career. Suter was drafted by the Calgary Flames in 1984 and went on to play for the Chicago Blackhawks and the San Jose Sharks over the course of his own 18-year career.

Mike Emrick is an award-winning sports commentator and head announcer for NHL broadcasts on NBC and Versus. Ed Snider is the chairman of the company that owns the Philadelphia Flyers and other Philadelphia based teams.  

The ceremony will be held at the Hall of Fame in Chicago this fall.  


Reach Lauren by email, or follow her on Twitter.



Craig Gillespie directed this true story about "the most daring rescue mission in the history of the U.S. Coast Guard.”

Watch USC Annenberg Media's live State of the Union recap and analysis here.