About Us

Neon Tommy is an online-only, around-the-clock, student-run, Los Angeles-based news source sponsored by the Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism through Annenberg Digital News.

Our visitors depend on us to cover crucial stories that would otherwise fall by the wayside, and to provide meaningful context in a cluttered media landscape. Our fleet of reporters is a powerful presence throughout Los Angeles and across Southern California, with selective coverage of national and international events.

We take particular care to avoid redundancy with other news outlets; our work is fresh and unique, telling stories that other outlets are not. When another outlet has the story, we point our visitors there.

We are innovative and interactive, pushing the boundaries of storytelling on the Internet. We throw dated, inaccurate, and misguided news paradigms out the window. We employ a variety of platforms and technologies to create engaging experiences for our visitors. We represent the future of digital news.

Annenberg Digital News

Annenberg Digital News is a multimedia newsroom that is operated, edited and managed by graduate and undergraduate journalism students of the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism.

It serves not only as a lab and incubator for ongoing and transformative innovation in the fast-changing world of journalism but also as a vibrant and rich source of the very best in local, regional, national and international reporting and commentary.

ADN publishes Neon Tommy, constantly refreshing the site with the very best in Annenberg journalism. ADN draws not only from its own robust stable of reporters and editors, but also brings forward the very best in multi-platform journalism produced by the various reporting, investigative reporting, collaborative reporting projects, research centers and institutes that have put USC Annenberg on the front lines of modern American journalism.


Will Federman, Editor-in-Chief Email

Sara Newman, Deputy Editor Email

Kacey Deamer, Operations Director Email

Alex Gold, Social Media Director Email


Michael Nystrom, Associate News Editor Email

Eric Parra, Tech Editor Email


Kathy Zerbib, Senior Entertainment Editor Email

Jillian Morabito, Senior Entertainment Editor Email   


Janelle Cabuco, Senior Arts Editor Email 

Gabi Duncan, Associate Arts Editor Email 


Matthew Tufts, Senior Sports Editor Email

Max Meyer, Sports Editor-at-Large Email

Jacob Freedman, Sports Editor-at-Large Email


Francesca Besey, Senior Opinion Editor Email

Christian Patterson, Deputy Opinion Editor Email

Also visit some of our related leading Annenberg journalism learning labs, projects and research centers: